top of page

Writing and Editing Update February 15, 2015

On May 25, 2013, I began writing the first draft of the Ravynwyng Chronicles. On September 24, 2013, I finished the first draft, which topped out at 287,777 words. I was advised to split it into two volumes easy enough.

Volume 1: The Beginning topped out at 151,699 words, and volume 2: Discovery topped out at 136,078 words.

I ran volume 1 through the Hemingway App and cut it down to 149,477 words. Then the real editing began. Doing a line-by-line edit, along with search and destroy words, I brought the word count down to 122,457.

Now during the current rewriting and editing the word count has dropped to 117,841 words.

I still have another 25 chapters to put through the rewriting and editing, but I am very pleased with how this is turning out.

And to think, I get to put volume 2 through the same process.

Volume 3: Truth already has the first 20 pages written.

I plan to self publish this trilogy to keep total control of my work. I even managed to write two short stories and a novelette, which are spin-offs of the Ravynwyng Chronicles.

Once this trilogy is finished, I will concentrate my full attention on another trilogy I am working on: The Archivist -- Lenara Lenquil Adventures. Volume 1 I have already written 16k words, and have the ending written.

If you haven't guessed, I like to keep busy. I also have the rough drafts of volumes one through three written for a fantasy trilogy called Guardian Blades.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page