top of page

Ravynwyng Chronicles Excerpt


Ravynwyng Chronicles Volume 1: The Beginning

by Anna Dobritt

© copyright 2015. All Rights Reserved.

Coming in 2015 -- Ravynwyng Chronicles Volume 1: The Beginning.

Until now, Ravyn Wyng's life was normal. She is a successful author, has a wonderful wife and great friends. Lately her sleep is plagued by strange dreams and when a box arrives containing journals written in an old language, a copper disk, and a ring, her quiet life goes out the window.

Excerpt from the Ravynwyng Chronicles Volume 1: The Beginning

Too irritated to work, Ravyn headed outside to smoke, sitting on the grass behind the garage. “If that was a pep talk it sure didn’t help,” she mumbled, lighting a cigarette. “I’m even more confused about this whole damn mess!”

*Perhaps I can help clear a few things up.*

The female voice in her mind sent a burst of adrenaline through Ravyn, and she scrambled to her feet. “What the hell? Who are you? Where are you?”

*Look down, Ravyn.* A faint silvery flicker resolved into a raven. The bird cocked its head; intelligence and concern shone in the raven’s eyes.

Her knees buckled, and she sat. “Son of a bitch! You-you’re from my dream but...” Heart pounding, sweat trickled down her face. “I-I must be losing it.” Ravyn covered her face. This can’t be real! Maybe the punch to the eye scrambled my brain.

The raven flapped her wings and landed on Ravyn’s shoulder. “I assure you I am real,” she said. “My name is Cara and I’m your raven companion.”

Ravyn flinched at the claws gently gripping her shoulder. “H-how do you know what I was thinking?”

“It’s one of my many abilities.” The bird rubbed her head against Ravyn’s cheek. “I was supposed to bond with you after your accident, but the plan didn’t work out. The ring you now wear was in possession of a member of the Ravyn Council. He should have given it to you, but for whatever reason, he kept it.” Cara’s feathers ruffled. “Ravyn, do you remember anything from when you died and then were brought back to life?”

“I don’t like thinking about what happened.” A dim memory worked its way to the surface. A shudder ran through her as she tried to keep the memory contained. “I was badly hurt; nothing made sense.” Mouth dry, Ravyn found it difficult to swallow.

“Please. It’s important for you to remember,” Cara urged her.

“Why? My heart stopped, and they managed to get it going again five minutes later.” Trembling hands lit a cigarette.

“But they had problems reviving you, didn’t they?”

“Y-yes,” Ravyn admitted, running a trembling hand through her hair.

Cara moved to Ravyn’s lap, looking up at the human. “Now tell me what you remember.”

Heaving a sigh, she began. “I-I remember voices around me, but I didn’t understand what they were saying. One shouted ‘Code Blue’.” Ravyn closed her eyes, rubbing her face with her hand. “Next I remember being in a place with lots of columns. There were ravens flying around and across from me stood an archway made of black stone. I think it was glowing. It’s hard to remember.”

“Continue,” Cara softly said.

“I think there were people, but they looked strange. Some went toward the black arch accompanied by a raven and disappeared. Others stood or wandered around. There were shadowy creatures too.” The more she talked, the more her memory returned. That was just a dream, wasn’t it? Hands trembling, Ravyn lit another cigarette. “A woman walked over. She had short black hair, and taller than me. A raven perched on her shoulder.” A brief smile flickered. “She was beautiful.”

“Did she say anything to you?”

Ravyn leaned her head against the garage. “She said if I entered her service I would be returned to the land of the living. I agreed since I didn’t want to leave Jennie. She told me her name was Lady Ravyn and that someone would contact me once I recovered from my injuries. Lady Ravyn then led me to an archway made of white stone with a bright silvery glow. And told me to walk through.” Ravyn flicked ashes from the cigarette, opened her eyes and watched the smoke drift away. “Next thing I know I’m waking up in a private room in the hospital and the first person I saw was Jennie.” Tears appeared, and she sniffed. “Even though I was the one in the accident and beaten up, she looked awful. I felt so bad putting her through hell worrying about me. Nicole told me Jennie rarely left my bedside.”

Cara shook her head. “The ring you now wear should have been given to you not long after that. Lady Ravyn entrusted JC with the task and he fouled up. What was he thinking?”

The screen door opened and Ravyn stared at Cara. “I’ll bet that’s Jennie coming to look for me. How am I going to explain your presence?”

“Say nothing for now. The two of us will figure something out in your dreams.” Cara hopped to the ground, flapped her wings and flew to the garage roof.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page